Back online and School 2009-2010

7 04 2009

Sorry I haven’t had a post in over a week, but we haven’t had Internet!  It is crazy how out of touch you can feel without it, but how much time you have during the day without it.  It has been a hidden blessing in our home.

Well, I really wanted to write about what we are planning for our 2009-2010 school year.  This year (2008-2009) has been CRAZY!  We had many things that came up to make the year go less than perfect.  We had a surprise miscarriage (which I took harder than I though I would) making it hard to even sit and do school with out little ones, then a move out of state…..and a really exciting surprise pregnancy which left me sick and not able to get off the couch let alone at the school table.

After a first half of a year like that you are probally thinking “why would they continue to homeschool, it would be easier to just send those kids somewhere”.  I have to admit that thought has crossed my mind many times.

After my husband and I prayed and talked about it, we talked about how AWESOME it was we were able to take big breaks in school when our family needed it.  How we are now able to double up during the week because things have calmed down to catch up.  How awesome I was able to hold my little ones in my arms after we lost one.  How sad I would have been to be alone in the house during those sad days.  During the move we were able to focus on their needs and adjusting them instead of only getting them in a school system.

This first year may have been crazy, but it has been such a blessing.  We have decided to continue homeschooling this next fall.  Now here is the fun stuff….what are you going to use as curriculum.

This next year we are going to continue with Sonlight.  We have really enjoyed their core curriculum and the ease of schooling two children at the same time.  To see my children asking to “look” at books during the day is so amazing.

Isaac and Grace will move to the Kindergarten level together, with Isaac doing the Level 1 readers and Grace the K readers.  Owen will do the Five in  Row book 1 by himself. 

For Math we will continue with Math U See, which we have loved.  Dave teaches math to Isaac and Grace and I do all the other subjects.

For science we will continue with Sonlight science.  I haven’t read too many good things about their science curriculum, but I am happy to say they have totally redone it!  So, I have been very happy with what they will be offering in the future years.  I don’t think you can really go wrong at the Kindergarten level. 

We will doing our own Bible time this next year.  Dave has somethings he really wanted to do with them so we thought this would be a good time do that. 

For Handwriting we will continue with the first grade level of Handwriting Without Tears.  Grace and Isaac are almost done with the K level and we are very pleased with how well it has gone.

Something that has been such a blessing in homeschooling is that daddy gets to be involved.  With a little blessing making its arrival sometime in late August to early September we have decided to do “night school” for a few weeks.  How awesome is that?  I love that our schedule can adapt to our family needs.  Dave will be doing most of the schooling during this time, which gives me a lot of peace over the 2009-2010 school year. 

Now, after a lot of prayer we have decided to do a 4 day school year.  The children will be attending a cottage school one day a week.  This is a school that is for homeschooled children and their parent.  I will at the school with them while they take 5 classes, chapel and lunch.  The baby will be able to stay with me, but the others will be in classes.  With a new home in a new state we felt we needed to meet some people in the same lifestyle as us, so we have decided this may help.

I hope this gives you a taste of our next year as a family.  God has been so good to us and we thank Him for our children and the children we have yet to meet.

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 04 2009
Luke Holzmann

May this be your best year homeschooling yet!

~Luke

8 04 2009
Kacie

Have fun! Looks like you have some fun things planned.

10 04 2009
Kacie

Becky, do you want me to bring anything when we come? I’d be happy to. We’re leaving on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

