Perseverance

11 12 2008

Perseverance…what does that mean?  I feel that God has shown this character trait in my husband.  Dave has worked so hard over the past 8 years and I am so proud of him and all that the Lord has done in his life.  He stuck it out when times got difficult.

At 18 Dave graduated high school and became engaged (to me of course).  A young man with a heart to be married young and succeed in life…two things that society says doesn’t happen often.  We had so many people say that he would never finish school, he would drop out etc.  Dave said no that would not happen.  We wait 1.5 years to marry and at the age of 20 he and I married.  At the age of 21 he became a father.  Then only 3 months later he graduated with his Bachelors.  He then moved us to Louisville, Ky to dedicated himself to the learning all that he could about ministry so that he could effectively serve Christ in His church.  A year into seminary he became a father again at the age of 23.  He still continued to work hard to provide for us and study.  Two years later and we have our second son at the age of 25.  Now at the age of 26 he is graduating with his Master of Divinity.  He has given so much to us as a father and husband and still has been able to receive his degree.

My husband has persevered when it was hard and I mean HARD.  God continued to give him strength and direction.  He gave up sleep, sports, free time and fun to be the father and husband we needed.  He made sure our needs were met before his own.  He loved us enough to give up everything he had for us.  At Christmas or birthdays he would give me all the gift cards or money he has received and told me to get what the kids and I needed.  He never went and bought things he wanted, he made sure the needs were met first in our home.  He made sure his children knew who he was and that they are loved by him.

I am so proud to say I am his wife! I am so thankful for the man that God gave to me to lead our home and someday lead His church.  God used Dave a young husband and father to do what society says doesn’t happen.  We can’t count the times we were told…if you have kids you won’t finish school or if you do this you won’t get your degree. 

We are so thankful to God for His direction in our lives and home.

Congratulations Dave!  I am so proud of you!  Tomorrow is the BIG day and I can’t wait to see you walk on that stage, I know that I will have tears in my eyes because for a brief moment I will get to see you receive a piece of paper you have worked so long and hard for.  What I can’t wait to see is all the knowledge you bring into a church…that is what I look forward to.  I can’t wait to see how God will use that “piece of paper” for His glory for years to come.

Actions

Information

6 responses

11 12 2008
Pam Dauzy

I am so proud of both of you, and can’t wait to see how God is going to use you both to accomplish His purposes in the place He has chosen for you!

11 12 2008
Jill

Wow! Congratulations Dave!

11 12 2008
Annie

Way to go Dave! We love you guys and are excited for what’s coming. You guys make a great pair, and Dave this is a word well said of you…you work hard and now is the payoff of sorts; of course your family is obvious payoff we hear of day by day. You and Becky really do work hard together! We’re so happy for you both staying the course. The Lord continue to bless, use, and keep you all.
Signed, Brian

12 12 2008
Melissa (Richards) McCauley

YAY!!!! You guys are an inspiration. Congrats to you and Dave!!!

12 12 2008
Tanya

A great big CONGRATULATIONS to Dave and to you, too, Becky! I know you have earned this proud moment as much as he has! They don’t realize it now, but one day those precious kids of yours will be so grateful for your dedication to God and to them through these difficult years. I pray God will bless you tremendously in the years ahead and I can’t wait to see all the ways He uses you. Love you guys!

12 12 2008
kaciel

Congratulations to you both!

Leave a Reply

