Motivated by God or Sin?

2 09 2008

These last few weeks, God has been working at my heart.  What is my motivation?  Why do I do the things I do?  Is it for the glory of God or is it for sin?

Here are somethings that have been on my heart.

Why do I discipline my children?  It should be so that God is glorified.  Sometimes I discipline to look like a “good mommy”.  I want others to see my children and think…”Look at that good mommy, her kids are so well behaved”.  Ouch!  That is the worst thing I could EVER do is bring my children into my sinful world.  I have been praying that when people see my family they think….”wow, something is different about that family!”  and I pray they come and find out that it is because of my relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ and nothing else.

Why do I say  no?  Hummmm, think about that one.  How often do you say no to your children only because you are in the sin of being lazy?  I often say no to finger painting, riding bikes, going swimming etc. ONLY because it is too much work for me and I am lazy!  Now, don’t get me wrong, there are many times we need to say “No” to our children, but it should be to glorify God.  There are times when I need to say “No, we can’t play with play-do right now because mommy is making sure you have a healthy dinner to eat tonight and I can’t do both right now.”  But in general what are my reasons for saying no.

Are my meals healthy and thought out?  Do I take the time to prepare foods that glorify God?  On many nights I want quickly put together something and not plan out a meal.  I want to spend my children’s nap time on the computer or reading instead of in the kitchen preparing a meal that will grow their bodies for God’s glory. 

This is what has been on my heart lately and I just wanted to share it with you.  The list could go on forever, but for now I am taking it one step at a time….I am going to go and take the kids to the Library because they have been asking for a week!  (I really am trying to work on making “Yes” be my natural reaction instead of “No”.  Have a blessed day!

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 09 2008
Annie

Thanks Becky – been thinking about some of this myself… but your thoughts are much more practical – so thanks for the push. 🙂

30 09 2008
Myths about homeschooling « Servant for Him

[…] 6. We (moms) like to do crafts everyday.  TRUTH: I love to do crafts, but it is work for me to pull out paint and play do…see my post here. […]

Leave a Reply

