All Boy? All Girl?

14 05 2008

I have never been one of those moms that could say that I had a child that was “all boy” or “all girl”….until yesterday!

After returning home from a long drive from Chicago the kids eagerly jumped out of the minivan and ran to the back yard.  We had to leave really early in the morning for me to get home to work that evening so it was only lunch time and they had tons of energy cooped up in their little bodies.

Isaac ran out of the car with a Chicago cubs batting hat (more on that later) and Grace with her Build A Bear bear carrier.  Isaac ran to his tee-ball and started to hit balls in the yard, Grace went in the house and came out with her doll stroller and babies (at least 3, because all mommies have to have lots of babies, right?)  She was pushing them up and down the driveway while daddy unloaded the car. 

That is when it hit me!  My little boy is “all boy” and my little girl is “all girl”.  I didn’t have to teach Isaac how to be a boy and I didn’t have to teach Grace how to be a girl.  I am not saying that their father and I don’t have a huge responsibility to teach and train them to be the man and woman that God created them to be.  It just hit me how different they are! 

Isaac will willing and lovingly play dolls with is sister.  Grace will willingly and happily dress up as Spider-girl or Bat-girl to play superheros with her brother.  It was just a great demonstration that God made them different, He made them to be a boy and a girl!  He made them to like different things and to be different.  How awesome is that?

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

