Stewardship: With the Cost of Having a Baby

24 02 2008

Okay, I know this post is late, we have had a few things come up with our family and kids that had to get taken care of.  So here is the final post on the topic of Stewardship.  This is an interesting one and one that I have had to work very had on.  With 3 small children all in a few years and my husband only working part-time I had to come up with ideas and put them into action fast.  Here is what I do to be a good steward with our money when it comes to rasing a small child(ren).

1. I use cloth diapers. Now before you skip over this one and move on to #2 hear me out.  This has been the #1 way for me to save money in our home.  Please see my post on Cloth Diapering for more info here, I have lots on this topic!

2. I make my own baby food when I can.  When my baby starts to eat solids I smash a banana in a bowl and feed it to them, I buy sweet potatos and cook them and blend them til smooth, I buy the big jar of unsweetened applesauce and use that instead of the gerber etc. (it is the same thing). 

3. I try to find cheep antibotics when they get sick….now I don’t mean cheaper quality, I mean cheaper price.  At Meijer our local food store they do FREE antibotics on the 6 most popular for kids!  Then Walmart and Kroger do $5.oo on most.  It is an easy way to cut back on costs for medical expenses.

4.Buy your kids clothes on sale and clearance for the next year.  Now I know many of you are going to say,”But I don’t know what size they are going to be, it is hard to tell.”  You are right, but after the age of 2 most kids will wear one size long enough to go the year in it.  For example most kids will wear a 3t for 10-12 months then move to 4t or a 4.  So, my son is in a 3t now, I am buying 4’s for next year.  Grace is in a 2t now, so I will put her in a 3t next year etc.  You can get close enough, anyway the look for boys is a little big.  So if you aren’t sure always buy a little big, than a little small.

5.  BE HONEST!!!!  Do you really need the matching shoes, bows and purse for your little toddlers outfit?  Maybe for Easter or Christmas, but not everyday.  We try to buy a pair of dress shoes that will go with all her church clothes for that season, so we don’t have to buy 3-4 pairs of shoes for one season of nice clothes.  When a season is getting ready to start (like spring here in a few weeks) I get out their bin of clothes that I bought last year and I put them in piles.  I see excally how many shirts I have, shoes, t-shirts etc.  I then make a list of everything each child needs for that next season.  I carry that list with my wallet, and when I see something on sale or at a good price, I pull out my list and see if they need it.  If they don’t I don’t get it, this keeps me from over buying.  I like to have an entires week worth of clothes per child per season.  I only do their wash once a week, so I need to make sure I have enough, but not too much.

 I hope this has helped you out!  Please remember to send in those recipes to ferrarohome@msn.com.  I will start posting them this week!!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

