Calling All Cooks!

18 02 2008

I am going to start for a few weeks posting some recipes that are short on time but big hits with our families. Most of my best recipes have come from other moms and I want you to have them as well.

So please send me your families favorites to ferrarohome@msn.com. Please include the recipe, your website if you have one (I will link it to the recipe), how long it takes and if it freezes well. Let’s try to pick recipes that don’t take too long to make….I don’t mind them taking hours to cook, as long as the prep time is short.

So ladies (men you too if your the cook in your home) send those in! Don’t forget we all like to have quick, tasty desserts as well. I can’t wait to hear from you soon!

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 02 2008
momlovesbeingathome

Oh, I could probably give you tons of great recipes!! I’ll do just one for now though. This is a crockpot recipe that I’ve shared before on my blog. The only prep before hand is browning the meat – other than that it’s just a matter of putting it all in the crockpot. 🙂

Taco Soup

1 lb. browned ground beef

28 oz. can crushed tomatoes

1 can corn – undrained

1 can black beans – undrained

1 can kidney beans – undrained

1 pkg. Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix

1 pkg. taco seasoning mix

Cook on low 4-6 hours in crockpot. Garnish with chips, sour cream and shredded cheese.

10 03 2008
Joy

I posted this on my blog a couple weeks ago. It’s a crock pot recipe I threw together that actually tasted fantastic! I don’t know how it freezes, but it sure was super quick to make.

Crock Pot Chicken Pot Pie

INGREDIENTS

* 4-6 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I use the individually frozen breasts from Wal-Mart)
* 2 cans cream of chicken soup
* 2 cups of milk
* 1 package dry onion soup mix
* 1 large can of mixed vegetables (I used a large Veg-All can, but you could just add 2-3 cans of any veggies of your choice)
* 2-3 refrigerator cans of small biscuits (or enough biscuits for everyone to have 3-4 biscuits)

DIRECTIONS

1. Place the frozen chicken on the bottom of the crock pot.
2. Mix the remaining ingredients together (except the biscuits) and pour over the chicken.
3. Cook on high for 4-5 hours, or low for 7-8 hours.
4. Bake the biscuits so they’re still hot when you’re ready to eat.
5. To serve, just place a few biscuits on the bottom of a bowl, and then top them with the chicken, sauce, and vegetables. The chicken is so tender, it’s easy to cut it into bite-size pieces once it’s in the bowl.

10 03 2008
Mandy

mmm…that sounds great! But do you really put in frozen chicken? I always defrost mine first.

11 03 2008
Joy

Oh yes, frozen chicken, straight from the freezer!

When I cook chicken in the crock pot, I never defrost it first, and it always turns out SO deliciously tender.

Leave a Reply

