Gracelyn

4 02 2008

Dear Family and Friends,

We come to you guys asking for prayers for our little girl Gracelyn. Many of you may know that last Wednesday Jan. 30 Grace starting limping in the evening. Thinking that she had fallen at church or something we thought nothing of it. She wasn’t crying or anything. Then on Thursday it continued like the night before. Then on Friday Dave and I decided that she needed to be taken in just in case it was broken.

They did x-rays etc. and found no break. The Dr. thought it could maybe be an inflamation of the hip and joint (which would cause the limping). They put her on Motrin every 6-8 hours for the weekend and we were to return if it hadn’t improved. Over the weekend it had gotten worse and by Sunday night her left foot was turned in.

We took her back into the dr. today and they decided she needed to be seen by a Children’s Orthopaedic Doctor. Our Pediatrician thought that it could be a “toddler fracture” That is when they break a bone but it can’t be seen on an x-ray. They got us an appointment for 3pm.

Dave met me up there and the dr.s there thought it was broken for sure and that it might be higher up in her femur bone (upper leg). So they did some more x-rays (the original ones were only of the lower leg and foot). After the x-rays came back the dr. came and talk to me (Dave was in the playroom with Isaac and Owen). She said that she really wanted it to be broken and she had other dr.’s look at the x-rays as well and they could not find a break. She said that she wanted us to continue with the motrin for another 6 days to rule out the inflamation of the hip and joints.

She then said that she is leaning toward Legg-Calve-Perthes Disease. She said that Grace is a little young for it, but the ealier they get it the better off it is for them. This is when the top of the femur bone starts to die because the body stops sending blood to it. It is not life threating and it has a good rate of regrowing itself and being normal again.

She said she wants to see Gracelyn back on Monday, and if the limp is the same or worse and her foot is still turned in (kids turn the foot in to compensate for the pain and the loss of movement in the joint etc) they will send her for an MRI at the Children’s hospital here in Louisville.

We ask for your prayers on our little girl, we ask that you pray that God will heal her and that His glory will be done it all of it. Please pray that the mortrin treatment works and that it is only an inflamation of the hip and joint. We know that God is in control and that His Will will be done and will work out for those who love Him.

Thank you for your prayers, we will update after next Monday’s appointment. Unless God heals her this week and we can cancel the appointment!

Actions

Information

13 responses

4 02 2008
Tanya Thornton

Sweet Gracie. We are praying for her healing, Becky. Jesus loves her and so do we!

5 02 2008
momlovesbeingathome

Oh, that brings tears to my eyes! Of course I will pray for her.

5 02 2008
julieH

Praying…

5 02 2008
kaciel

I emailed you, but I wanted to post on here as well- we are praying for God’s hand to heal little Gracie. Much love to you all…

5 02 2008
Prayer Request « The King Home

[…] 6th, 2008 Please pray for Gracelyn. She is the daughter of our friends, The Ferraros. Click here to see their specific […]

5 02 2008
aslade

wow….this is amazing that God brought me to this website. Back before Christmas this very same thing happened to my nephew. And his foot turned in. And they took him to the doctors and they took x-rays and said it wasn’t broken. And told them to keep him off of it for 78 hours to see if it went away. And now the doctors aren’t doing anything. So…this is very interesting news. I just called my sister and told her about the disease so she can ask her doctor about it. My nephew is 3 how old is your daughter?

5 02 2008
ferrarohome

My Grace is 2.5 years old. It usually seen in little boys between 4 adn 6, but not uncommon for to been seen as young as 2 years of age. Please let me know what your nephews dr’s say about it.

6 02 2008
aslade

Yes I will definately let you know. I told my sister the name of the disease and told her to ask her doctors as soon as she could. So we will see what happens and what it turns out to be. Thank you for posting about your daughter. I would have never known about this disease if the Lord hadn’t brought me to you! How is your daughter? Is there any updates as to what it is?

6 02 2008
Sandy

My son has LCPD. He was diagnosed at 4 years old with 100% involvement. He is now 7 and we recently got great news that he has started re-growth. It can take as many years to grow back as it has to deterirate but we hoping for the best. You can get alot of information as well as ask questions of other members, parents, who have been through or are going through the perthes journey through a yahoo based support group. If you are interested in joining please let me know and I will have the group owner send you an invite. The group is private so your youngster’s information, pictures, names, etc. cannot be copied in anyway. It is an exceptional place for support and information. Our prayers are with you and your family as you start this journey. The Jennings Family NC

9 02 2008
Heather Thomas

I am praying for Gracelyn as well.

Heather Thomas

9 02 2008
ferrarohome

Thank you everyone for your support. We are really looking foward to Monday’s appointment. We pray that God will heal our little girl and we look foward to the dr.’s amazment that she is all better!!!

Heather, I would love to visit your site! Send me your info/password if that is okay.

Jennings Family, I am so sorry about your son, I will be praying for him as he recovers. I would be very interested in that yahoo group, but I don’t know if they would want to me join, because we don’t know if she has it yet. If she does have it, I would really love the suport. Let me know what you think.

Thank you everyone!

12 03 2008
Dianne Patton

My son also has LCPD. It has become an emotional journey for us also. He saw the Dr’s yesterday and they are now recommending surgery. We are on the fence because we do not know that much about the surgery and it only has a 50% success rate. My prayers are with you and yor family and I hope Gracie gets well soon. Also I would love to join the support group if Heather sees this e-mail!

10 06 2009
Randomness :: momlovesbeingathome.com

[…] Please be in prayer for Gracelyn. […]

Leave a Reply

