The New year and the New You!

13 12 2007

I feel that every year we get wraped up in this thinking that we have to be better looking, make more money, spend more time with family and lose more weight than the year before.  Why is that?  It would seem that it must be society that is pushing us that way or our friends.  I think it isn’t eaither of those things.

Our sinful nature makes us choose to be discontent in our current situations.  It makes us feel like we should always be more and have more than the year before.  I decided last year that whenever something came up this year (2007) I would take care of it then, not wait until January 1st of the next year.  I have to say it has made the biggest difference in my life. If I see that I haven’t been doing my quiet time during the day, instead of waiting to “start new in 2009” I just picked it back up that day.  When I felt I was ready to lose my baby weight from Owen, I started that next week.  When Dave and I decided we needed to be spending some time alone, we got a baby-sitter for that next weekend.

I challenge you to change what needs to be changed when it comes up.  So why wait for January 1st?  Why not December 13th?

Don’t let this society tell you that you need to be better in 2008, instead commit to being who you should be everyday of the  year.  I have to say, I come to 2008 with no resolutions I can think of doing because I made changes all year long.

Happy New Year

Actions

Information

One response

13 12 2007
Mandy

Great post, Becky! I do have to admit that I fall prey to this way of thinking often. I have a very anal personality and it would be unreal for me to set a new goal and begin on a Thursday. It would have to be a Monday or the 1st day of the next month- or new year LOL.

This gives me a new perspective…and you are right. Thanks=)

Leave a Reply

