Goals

16 10 2007

I am happy to say that I have met one of my goals for this year and after meeting have made another goal.

You guys know I have struggled with my weight and with keeping my priorities in check these past few months. Now that I have my perspective correct (see spritual growth) I have met a goal. A goal to be able to run around with my kids and not get tired. This past weekend I ran my first 5K! I ran it in about 32 minutes. I am so excited! This meant a lot to me, not just because I was doing something I had set out to do, but because it was the Komen Breast Cancer run. On July 7th (the day Owen came home from the hospital) my Auntie Karen passed away from breast cancer. This also marks the 2 year anniversary of my Aunt Cindy being a survivor and of my mom’s double mastoamy (sp?). My family has been hit with a freight train these past few years. I know that I may never see a cure, but I wanted my curly hair, shoe loving little princess to live a life free from the fear of breast cancer.

Goals are interesting things. They push you to do something new and exciting. This goal pushed me to my limit; I had never run more than 2 minutes prior to training for the 5K! I have now set a goal to run the 6.25 mile race in the spring. I hope that God will give me the power and strength to do it. It pushes me mentally and physically. I totally give God the credit for me being able to finish the race; I am just not a good runner.

To all the woman who have had to face Breast Cancer, you are my Hero!

Actions

Information

One response

15 12 2007
Idetrorce

very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

