Weight Loss and Goals

27 09 2007

After giving birth to our 3rd child in 3 years this past summer I have been determined to loose the baby weight (and a few extra lbs.). But in this past week I have noticed I am not doing it for all the right reasons. When I look at my heart and really examine it I know that I want to be *skinny* and *look good*. These are NOT God honoring and I am not proud that they has been my heart issue.

Now I started out with the right motives…

1. To be able to run around with my kids and not get tired.

2. To have more energy for my family.

3. To be able to handle a 4th pregnancy easier.

4. To be taking care of the Temple of God, which is my body.

But those motives quickly faded when I started to lose weight. I then wanted to be skinny and look good, not to honor God but to honor myself. I wanted to wear a certain size and have people want to look like me. God really convicted my heart when over the past week I hadn’t lost any weight and I had been working even harder to do it. I than realized my sin.

I have gone back to the original motives. I am no longer going to obsess over a number, but evaluate my progress on the goals and motives I started with. This way I can honor God and my husband.

Have a healthy God honoring day.

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 09 2007
momlovesbeingathome

What a great perspective!!! I used to be very thin but since I had my kids I’ve had some extra weight that I haven’t been able to get rid of. Without going into a long story, I’ve tried to lose weight but it doesn’t come off no matter how hard I try. I have recently been trying to just accept that this is who I am – this is who God made me to be. It’s hard to do sometimes in a society that says beautiful=skinny but I care more about what God thinks of my heart than my body. I need to remember what you’ve written here today! Thanks for sharing this.

27 09 2007
Courtney

Great post, Becky! I have had a post written about the same topic for several weeks now, but have not published it yet as I continue praying over it. God has been convicting me of this sin for a while now, and since then I have aquired an accountability partner (a certain kick-butt teacher we had together Jan. of ’06 😉 ), have read much on the topic, and have made this one of the centers of my prayers. It’s also amazing that around the same time God was bringing this to my attention, the Girl Talkers announced they are going to do a series on this topic in a few weeks. I am anxious to read their posts and will probably publish mine some time after that. Much love to you as you continue to seek to honor God with your body.

13 12 2008
Zctiyjyn

Thanks!,

Leave a Reply

