Slave or Serving?

23 09 2007

I often have to look at my schedule and see if I am a slave to it or is it serving me. Being a slave to your schedule is not what it is meant to do, it is meant to serve you and your family.

Let’s look at ways the schedule can serve us….

1. It lets you keep everyone well fed and in good moods. My kids do better if they eat small meals all day long. This keeps their sugar from dropping and having tantrums. My schedule makes sure everyone is eating when they should and eating what they should.

2. It makes sure everyone is getting the rest they need. It is hard on kids to go go go all day long then be expected to behave in a restaurant…they need their rest and us moms need to make sure they are getting it. I see too many very tired little kids being dragged through the mall in the middle of the afternoon while mommy shops. I know we all like to go shopping and go out, but it is our job to make sure our family is getting everything it needs and sleep is one of them. Dr. Mohler, president of the Southern Seminary, talked on this a few days ago on his radio program. Children between 12 and 20 need 9 hours a sleep a day. If you aren’t sure what your children need check with your doctor. For me I can tell my kids need more sleep when they wake up tired or crabby or they are falling asleep before a normal naptime.

3. It helps you make sure everything is getting done around the house. Mom needs rest too, but you can’t get that in very easily if you are stuck trying to catch up on laundry or chores everyday. Make a cleaning schedule and keep to it. This way you can sit down in the afternoon or evening and know that you got everything for that day done.

4. It makes sure we are serving God! This is the most important way it can serve us. We need to make sure we are putting ministry in our schedule and keeping to it.

5. It helps unite your family together. Kids should know that the world does not revolve around them. Letting them see that everyone has a place on the schedule helps them work on sacrifice. Sometimes mommy has “mommy time” and the kids have “daddy time”. Everyone is important and needed for our family to run.

How does the schedule enslave us…

1. We NEVER allow the schedule to change to fit our family life or daily changes. Things come up and we need to change the schedule.

2. We don’t go anywhere because it doesn’t fit the schedule….even on nice sunny days. After a long winter we should take advantage of nice days and get outside. Even if it isn’t on the schedule we should go do it. We have grandparents or family in town we let the schedule go for a few days. Some days just don’t need a schedule and that is okay once in a while.

3. We become legalistic and demanding. Our husbands don’t need us telling them what to do because of a schedule. My kids go to bed around 8:30, but when daddy puts them to bed it is usually closer to 9 or 9:15. That is okay, daddy can do that, he is head of the house…not the schedule.

Okay…enough with schedule you are probably thinking. I have good reason for this, I see way too many woman not running their homes like we are called to in scripture. I fall into this category as well way too often, but I don’t want to keep doing that, I want to learn to do better and be a better wife and mommy. I have found that having a schedule helps me do that.

I hope you have put into place a family schedule and if you haven’t I hope you do. If you already have one make sure it is serving you and not you serving it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

