Well, that’s not too bad?

6 09 2007

That was what someone said to me the other day. Only after they asked me the question….how old are your kids? I say “3, 2 and 2 months”; they then say “Well, that’s not too bad”. I wanted to say, compared to what? So, I started to think about it and talked it over with Dave that I have been pregnant at some point EVERY year since 2003….it is now 2007. If you add in breastfeeding there are only 3 months (July, Aug and September of 2006) that I have not been breastfeeding or pregnant.

Don’t get me wrong I am not complaining here, I love my children, I love to nurse them (well, up until they start to bite) and love being a wife and mommy! I just don’t know how a total stranger can tell me “well, that’s not too bad.”. I also wanted to say…..”Yeah, it isn’t as bad as last fall when I was still throwing up 10 times a day because I don’t have easy starts to my pregnancies”.

Oh strangers, I could just slap them sometimes…..they always seem to have the “best” parenting advice….like when I was told once that I shouldn’t give my child anything that isn’t organic (I am not against organic, if I could afford it I would give a lot more of it) or cloth diapers will give them diaper rash or disposables will burn their skin (do you see a theme here….no matter what you do as a parent SOMEONE will tell you the opposite).

I think the worst thing that has been said to me in public, in front of my kids, was…”oh, the perfect family a boy and a girl, why are you having another?” WHAT!!!! Did you just imply that this new baby in my womb isn’t as important because I already have a boy and a girl!!!!! Now that “new baby” is 2 months old and is the most wonderful little baby, and I would give anything for him, just like I would for all my children. This really made me realize that our Worldview as Christians needs to be that life is important and God created it and we are NOT the ones to decide who is important and who is not.

Whew….that post got my blood boiling…..maybe that burned some calories…hey I might be at 14 lbs. and 15.99 oz. to go…. 🙂

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 09 2007
growingasigo

Bless your heart, Becky. People are very critical, aren’t they? The best thing that I have learned to do is smile and tell strangers how much I love having a 1, 2, and 3 year old! It baffles their mind (they are just waiting on you to agree with them or tell them you are going crazy) when you act as though you enjoy bring a mother. My favorite comment from others is

“You’re a glutton for punishment, huh?”

Just today the boys were misbehaving and the speech therapist said “Boy…looks like they’re really just craving some one-on-one time that they may never get?”

I just smiled. I could do other things. But I’m not even gonna indulge them=)

6 09 2007
kaciel

You know what I just realized? I’m the only one that hasn’t had 3 babies in 3 years! I admire you guys. I don’t know how you do it. We’re way behind in the seminary baby game. I don’t think there is much chance of us “catching up” either. 😉

Keep it up Becky. You’re doing fantastic.

7 09 2007
hearimchandna

hi i can understand ur felling do,t listen to others it,s ur life and only you can deside how ti live it. so just cheers . i m just new here and postmy very first blog on 4-sep. u all are very welcome to on my blog some time visit http://www.hearimchandna.wordpress.com

7 09 2007
narziss

…that our Worldview as Christians…

Well, not that I disagree with most of what you have to say; nor that I am a compulsive instigator of arguments, but don’t you think that talking about Christianity on the one hand, and “slapping strangers” on the other hand, is like the epitome of hypocrisy?

Or are you not the one who proclaim forgiveness? And loving our neighbour as ourself?

I really don’t mean to, nor want to, be rude. So please excuse me if that is how it’s sounding right now…

7 09 2007
ferrarohome

no you are right Narziss that I should NEVER slap a stanger. I still have a sinful desire to want to slap them, and I should be seeking forgiveness from my Hevenly Father for it. Feelings of anger still build up even when you are a believer, dealing with them in an apporiate way is also needed. Sometimes it is walking away, sometimes praying for that person and praying for God to give me the patience with them.

As a believer in Chirst Jesus I am NOT perfect He is the only one perfect and He is willing to forgive my sins no matter how big or small they are if I am willing to trust him as my Lord and Savior. He has done that for me. Many people believe that if you are a christian you are saying you are perfect…that isn’t the case….being a christian means that you have Jesus as Lord of you Life and you are striving daily with the Holy Spirit to live as He (Jesus) would live.

Just curious what is your background with Chirstians and are you one? I would love to hear what you think and believe.

I know many people that think that being a christian is a thing you do, it isn’t, it is being one of Gods Children. It is calling HIM Lord and accepting Him. Christains aren’t perfect. As you read my blog you will see that I struggle wtih many issues and things, but I will try my best with the help of the Holy Spirit to do as Jesus would do.

Leave a Reply

