The Difference Between the Two

19 08 2007

After sweeping the floor for the 3rd time in two days I began to think about the difference between stay at home moms. I am a believer of Christ Jesus and a follower and servant of Him. I am a stay at home mom to my children and a wife to my husband. Now you are probably wondering where is she getting with this! Well, my point is, how can the world tell the difference between stay at home moms?

As a believer the world should be able to see the difference between me and a stay at home mom that isn’t a believer. My question to you is do they see a difference in you if you are a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ?

Here are some ways I think they should see a difference in us……

1. We do our work without complaining. Php. 2:14 says Do everything without complaining or arguing. I know many Christian stay at home moms that complain about the work, the laundry, the dishes, the kids at every moment they can. I am truly at fault for this as well at times. I now see that I need to be joyful in the work the Lord has given me to do.

2. Our we patient with our children while in the home and out in public? Gal. 5:22-23 says, But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. We should have patience and grace with our children at all times. Now, this has brought me to my knees for forgiveness! Anyone that knows me knows that I struggle with having patience with my children at all times, some days are good, and many are not. This is when we truly need to come to the Lord and pray for His guidance and mercy.

3. Do we respect our husbands? Eph. 5:23 However, let each one of you love his wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband. I am not married to a perfect man, and I don’t believe any of you are either. I can get so angry at him, but that is not a reason to dishonor him in my home or in public to other people. We are to love our husbands and show them the up most respect.

This list is small I know and you could probably think of a ton more to add. I just want you to know that there needs to be a difference when we are at the park playing or at McDonalds’s with our children. There should be difference seen in us and in the way we parent our children. We should stand out in a crowd that we are children of the One and only True God!

When you go to sweep the floor for the 3 time tomorrow give God the glory for the work he has laid out for you to day, no matter how simple and routine it seems to be. He notices and that is all that matters.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

