Back to school means….

14 08 2007

Back to a schedule. We usually do really well with a schedule with our kids until…..SUMMER! Then we are up late, sleeping in and doing things with friends. Today is the first day back for the seminary students, so we are back to bedtimes, homework time (for Dave) and regular play dates. Now, I am from Michigan we don’t start school up there until after Labor Day, so I just can not bring myself to start Isaac and Grace until September as well! It feels so wrong to be going to school in August, so the kids and I are still enjoying our last few weeks of “free time”.

But before I know it it will be time for the kids to get back on schedule. So I thought I would share with you our schedule.

7-9 am

Breakfast, chores, video time

9-10 am

School time, Owen naptime

10-11am

Snack, YMCA workout time for Mommy, kids at Play Zone

11-12 am

Errands or Play Time

12-1 pm

Lunch and video time (30 mins.)

1-4 pm

Nap Time

4-5 pm

Room Time, Play Time, Mommy Prep dinner

5-7:30

Dinner, Family time

7:30-8:30

Bath and bedtime

On Monday, Wednesday and Friday I go work out in the morning at the YMCA and the kids play there on Tuesday and Thursday they have outside time during that hour. Also, Friday is Daddy Day. That is Dave’s day off because he works Sunday-Thursday, so the kids and him do whatever they like. I work on Fridays to help out a little with groceries and gas money.

During rest time I do my quiet time, laundry etc. Isaac does not sleep for 3 hours so he does book and puzzle time while the little ones are sleeping. Dave works until 10 pm MTW so during the evenings the kids and I just hang out etc. On Thursday nights I go to Seminary Wives Class (classes for wives going into the ministry) and Dave takes a class and the kids go to the nursery on campus.

Some people do not like a schedule, for me, it helps me serve my family better. It helps me to make sure everything is getting done and the kids are getting what they need. I want to encourage you to sit down and see what your family needs and make a schedule for it. I have found that if I write it down it gets done. If not I just sweep it under the rug. Even if you don’t like a schedule you should write out what you wan t to do everyday. For me I have to make a time to spend with the Lord, if not doing dishes, laundry and the kids fill up all my time. Make sure you are spending time with the Lord everyday no matter the season of you life you are in.

Actions

Information

8 responses

14 08 2007
Courtney

You know I’m a Nazi supporter of schedules, so I loved getting to see yours. Every time I see someone else’s schedule, it makes me rethink mine.

A few questions, which YMCA do you go to? How much does it cost? and what is Play Zone?

14 08 2007
ferrarohome

We go to the Northeast. The price is based on your income…which is nice. We did swimming and T-ball with them and will join after my 6 week check up from having Owen as full members. Kid Zone is the area the kids stay at during my workout. It is a HUGE inside play structure (kind of like McDonalds). THe baby is in the nursery (they take them at 6 weeks) in a little nursery area. Let me know if you have any questions.

15 08 2007
Stephen

Congratulations! This post was the featured post of the moment on WordPress! Good to see a fellow Southern Seminary “family” member made the headline. This alum will be praying for y’all.

15 08 2007
narziss

It’s nice to have a schedule and all that, but I would like to pitch in my two cents (and hope that you’re not gonna mind it, as that’s not my intention).

I am a student of western classical music (fighting against society, as it’s not a discipline either very popular, or very wlel thought of, over here in india where I stay).

And some days ago, I was just having a discussion with someone, in how the rigidity and monotony of school life actually is very, very harmful.
I’m of the opinion that school kills the spontaneity of a child: a very important and a potentially useful trait to posses. It kills the knack of people being natural. Of taking risks. Of trying new things.
Because of such bringing up, I see people in arts (say music itself), who haven’t started very early in that area (ditto for me); we fear experimenting around. We fear the instruments that we play in a manner that we are always afraid of playing something wrong, and due to this we don’t experiment around with new techniques, though initially they may prove to be wrong, can turn out really helpful later.

All I wanted to say that kids should be given ample space to experiment. They should not be rigidly confined to a time table and routines. Though of course, I can understand certain amount of discipline is also necessary.

I’m just saying this from my experience; because at least in arts, the best artists are most often the most spontaneous ones.

As Bertrand Russell said: Men are born ignorant, not stupid. Education makes them stupid! πŸ™‚

15 08 2007
Sabreena

Wow! I am inspired to do this when i start my own family. Many indian wives arent this organized. I think i should learn from you. Children look up to mothers the most.And that is when they learn from you. πŸ™‚

15 08 2007
ferrarohome

Thank you eveyrone for you great responses. Narziss, I would like to say that I totally agree that children learn great while having time to just explore. My son is a die hard drummer! He sets up drum sets where ever we go and sleeps with his drum sticks (he is only 3.5 years). I feel he gets lots of that time while doing Room Time and play time. I have learned that with chidren they need direction. My Chiklren learn more and do more if I direct them in doing so. Thank you for sharing your experiences and your honesty.

Everyone have a blessed day.

15 08 2007
growingasigo

Becky, do you realize your blog went from 200 some hits yesterday to 500 something today. You are famous=) Anyway, I wanted to say that I think your kids get more than ample “explore time” and you do a fantastic job of combining scheduled time with free time! Being a mom is just something you are great at!

9 01 2008
Stewardship: With my Time « Servant for Him

[…] my kids, doing housework, running errands and home schooling. After I made my list I then made a daily schedule of what our day looks like. After that I filled in everything the kids need during the […]

Leave a Reply

