Praying for the unknown

12 08 2007

I was hit with the realization that I don’t pray for the unknown! This came to me yesterday while shopping in Meijer (with only Owen, maybe that is why I had time to think). I ran into a woman who I have met many times and who I am getting to know more and more. While we stood in the store and chatted it came out that they have been trying to have a baby for some time. After we parted and went our own ways I was really hit hard by what the Holy Spirit was trying to tell me. I have been stuck in the sin of not praying for people I know that have needs that I don’t know about. I try often to lift up those requests that I know about and people that I know very well. But those aren’t the only things I am commanded to pray for.

I am guilty of sitting in prayer meeting at church and hearing someone say “I have an unspoken prayer request” and me thinking……”why mention it if you aren’t going to tell us what it is”. That was wrong of me, I should be taking that serious and praying for that person and their need. God doesn’t need Becky sticking her nose into everyone else’s business; He can handle it without me needing to know what it is. I am commanded to pray, that is it.

After I left this wonderful person in Meijer, I prayed for her and her husband. I also prayed for forgiveness for not praying for her before. I may not have known what to pray for, but God can handle that. He knows her needs!

I want to encourage you to pray not only for those people you know or requests you know of, but to pray for everyone. Your neighbors, your children’s teachers, your co-workers, your church leaders, your children’s friends…etc. I am sure there is someone you can add to this list. Someone that is hurting, but doesn’t know who to tell or how to tell someone. Then after you pray for them, pray for yourself. Pray that God will give you the opportunity to share the Gospel with them. Pray that God will open the door for you to minister to them.

Actions

Information

5 responses

12 08 2007
growingasigo

What a precious picture=)! I love it!

I like when you said:

“I am guilty of sitting in prayer meeting at church and hearing someone say “I have an unspoken prayer request” and me thinking……”why mention it if you aren’t going to tell us what it is”. That was wrong of me, I should be taking that serious and praying for that person and their need. God doesn’t need Becky sticking her nose into everyone else’s business; He can handle it without me needing to know what it is. I am commanded to pray, that is it.”

That is SO me! And I agree with you totally LOL. God doesn’t need me to know someone else’s need. I should just pray!

Great post, Becky!

13 08 2007
kaciel

Thank you for this Becky. I am thankful for the reminder. 🙂

13 08 2007
Blessed Assurance « Growing As I Go- This New Journey

[…] today. As God to bring lost family members and friends to mind. Pray for the unknown as my friend Becky pointed out so wonderfully yesterday. We are intercessors for the perishing and I believe we will […]

13 08 2007
growingasigo

also, I wanted to tell you that I posted something similar on my site this morning. You post is the inspiration for my post regarding something I have had on my mind for quite some time. Just wanted to let you know that=)

13 08 2007
growingasigo

Nevermind…it just showed you LOL. But it kinda makes it look like Kacie’s sister posted on your site when in fact it is just the title of my post LOL.

Leave a Reply

